Before the 21st edition, a golden opportunity for Al Ahly and Zamalek to break the deadlock in the finals of the two rivals

The Zamalek team secured their qualification for the final of the Egypt Cup after achieving a victory against Pyramids on penalties in the semi-final match held on Wednesday evening.

The Zamalek club narrowly overcame the obstacle of Pyramids after the game ended in a 2-2 draw, leading to extra time where both teams scored two goals, and then went to penalties with Zamalek emerging victorious with a score of 4-3.

As for Al Ahly, they advanced to the final after defeating ENPPI with a score of 3-0.

The next edition of the Egypt Cup will be the 21st edition that will bring together the two Egyptian football giants in the final.

It is evident from the history of matches between Al Ahly and Zamalek in the Egypt Cup finals that the two teams have met 20 times before. Al Ahly won 9 times, which is the same number of victories Zamalek achieved against Al Ahly. The teams shared the title in the 1942-1943 and 1957-1958 editions.

Therefore, the winner of the next edition will have the upper hand in the history of matches between Al Ahly and Zamalek in the final.

The results of the previous 20 editions between Al Ahly and Zamalek are as follows:
1927-28: Al Ahly 1-0 Zamalek
1930-31: Al Ahly 4-1 Zamalek
1931-32: Al Ahly 1-2 Zamalek
1934-35: Al Ahly 0-3 Zamalek
1937-38: Al Ahly 1-1 Zamalek (Al Ahly 0-1 Zamalek in the replay)
1941-42: Al Ahly 3-0 Zamalek
1942-43: Not played, and the two teams shared the title
1943-44: Al Ahly 0-6 Zamalek
1948-49: Al Ahly 3-1 Zamalek
1951-52: Al Ahly 0-2 Zamalek
1952-53: Al Ahly 4-1 Zamalek
1957-58: The teams shared the title after a draw
1958-59: Al Ahly 1-2 Zamalek
1977-78: Al Ahly 4-2 Zamalek
1991-92: Al Ahly 2-1 Zamalek
2005-2006: Al Ahly 3-0 Zamalek
2006-2007: Al Ahly 4-3 Zamalek
2014-2015: Al Ahly 0-2 Zamalek
2015-2016: Al Ahly 1-3 Zamalek
2020-2021: Al Ahly 1-2 Zamalek

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *